Q – How can I show that I can delete or ‘forget’ people from my records?
Unless under specific exceptions outlined in the ICO’s GDPR guidance (public health/safety interests for example), your members have the right to be ‘forgotten’ and for their data to be permanently deleted.
Again, easily done with Coacha, as a member can simply be deleted from your account at the touch of a button by you. Some data such as financial transactions or class attendance, will be retained though. This means your club data remains intact and you can fulfil your own compliance and legal obligations.
Q – How can I show that I’ve got permission from people for me to use their details?
Members must now actively ‘opt-in’ in order for you to use their data. You must not rely on ‘inaction’ any more. For example, an automatically ticked check-box won’t do, or ‘click OK to agree to all of our terms and conditions’.
When your members use the member portal they will be asked for consent to use their information for specific things (such as those outlined in our guide). They will be able to update their preferences at any time.
In addition, you can add waiver forms and other documents when sending out member sign-up forms. In Coacha2.0, members/parents will be able to electronically sign these documents and return them to you. This will make this entire process a lot easier and, most importantly, all be recorded and held in Coacha.
Q – How can I show how I will let people withdraw consent to use their data and how easy this will be?
It must be an effortless process for members to withdraw their consent for you to use their data at any time. Withdrawing consent completely will mean they will not be able to remain in your club, as you need to store and use their data as part of their membership.
They may however, decide that they want to withdraw their consent for something like receiving marketing information about ‘benefits and special offers associated with being a member of your club’. In this case, they can log in to Coacha’s Member/Parent portal and simply change their preference.
With something like this, when sending a broadcast from Coacha, you will be presented with a tick box asking if this broadcast is marketing-related or not. If ticked, this box will exclude all members who have opted out of marketing information. Very easy for you and your members.